Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

JJWeld
Casual Contributor

Advice needed please

Hi all, 

I’m not sure how to approach this and I have no experience at all with severe mental health issues but I have personally suffered heavily from depression for 20 years now and feel the older I get the worse it gets. And the more hurt I get when relationships break down. Recently I met a girl who suffers from schizophrenia and we clicked. I had no idea what the illness does to people but I really started to feel something for her and am never one to turn my back when things get tough. She would tell me that I was the most caring, kindhearted man she’d ever met and things were going fine until I saw another side of her illness. She started accusing me of only being there for sex, that I was just like all the other blokes she’d been with and telling me to get out. She would ignore me when I spoke or cut me off during a conversation and would only ever talk about her exes. Some nights she would get quite aggressive and angry and literally throw herself at me wanting sex. The next day she’d be quiet and reserved and wouldn’t show any emotion at all and would be cold towards me. A couple of weeks ago after being away working I stayed at hers for about 3 nights then all hell broke loose and she started at me at night about only wanting sex. Even though I’d brought some shopping to put in the fridge, some alcohol and personal belongings for her just to contribute a little. The end result was her telling me I’m using her place as a motel, and she sees a side to me she does not like. Which I would never do by the way.