Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Alicia
Contributor

OCD and anti-psychotic medication

have you noticed an increase in serious OCD symptoms with an anti-psychotic medication?
Does anyone have experience with someone going off this particular medication to try a newer one that may not have these side effects?
7 REPLIES 7

Re: OCD and anti-psychotic medication

Hi @Alicia

Welcome to the Forums – it’s great to have you be a part of our community.

I am no expert on anti-psychotic medication, but I’m wondering whether you have asked the doctor/psychiatrist about this side effect? I can only imagine that experiencing severe OCD symptoms as a side effect must be very distressing, so it would definitely be worth having a conversation about this with the prescribing doctor to see what can be done. You could also try Medicines Line and see if they can offer any advice on the subject. Their number is 1300 633 424.

There are a few members on here who have experience with psychosis, from both a lived experience and carers perspective. I wonder if @kenny66  @soul  @Shadow  @Linmerc  @Louise @Annie2  @Sheybridge  @ivana  @Daisy  @3forme  @Paxhave ever encountered something like this before?

Also just a reminder for all to be mindful not to mention specific medication names and dosages during our discussions (for more info on this, please check out the community guidelines).

Thank you again for your post Alicia. Hopefully these forums can be a place where you can connect and share with others who are walking a similar journey to yourself. Welcome again and look forward to ‘seeing’ you around the place!

All the best,
Mosaic.