Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

clh1
Casual Contributor

Newbie here

Hi all, I’m new here. 

My partner (27yo male) has been struggling with severe depression since he was a teenager, and is also diagnosed with ADHD. He really struggles to motivate himself to exercise, eat properly or do any activity that doesn’t produce instant dopamine (i.e., computer games, scrolling tiktok, gambling) even though he always says how much he wants to stop doing those things and focus on getting better.  

I have tried to encourage him to go to therapy several times, and he always says he will, yet never books the appointment. I have offered to book it for him and drive him there but he says he needs to do it himself. I understand it is his own personal journey and you can’t force someone to help themselves, so I don’t push the issue and just let him know I’m here for him, particularly since I have suffered from depression myself before and I know it doesn’t help to always have someone on your back about getting therapy. It makes you feel like you’re not loved or good enough just as you are.