Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Desert2023
Casual Contributor

Making mistakes and falling out with friends

Hi everyone, 

I’ve found myself here because lately my mental health hasn’t been great. When I have conflict with people it puts me in a very negative head space about myself thinking there is something ‘wrong’ with me and I’m a bad person. So rather than being truthful about how I feel, I usually bottle my feelings up. I’m not good at expressing myself. This happened with one of my best friends who did something which hurt me. We had a couple of discussions about it and after a while I found myself apologising and forgiving, when in reality I was still upset with her.

I then ended up having a few wines and posting something on social media on her birthday which was clearly a message intended to hurt (I posted a photo with other friends of mine saying that you realise who your real friends are etc). It was so stupid and of course, she unfriended me completely. 

I made the mistake of posting my mistake on another online forum for advice and became the target of abuse. A lot of people said how wrong I was, that a 33 year should know better, that I was stupid and immature and what a horrible thing to do to someone. It sent me into a total spiral and I wondered how people could be so mean. 

I ended up reaching out to her, apologising and taking accountability. Deep down I’m glad the friendship ended because I too wasn’t feeling valued by her.